Council members

Bild på Lars Heikensten

Lars Heikensten


PhD in economics. Previously chief economist of the Swedish National Debt Office, head of department at the Ministry of Finance and chief economist of Handelsbanken. He was between 1995 and 2003 deputy governor of the Swedish Central Bank and governor of the Swedish Central Bank between 2003 and 2006. Between 2006 and 2011 he was the Swedish member of the European Court of Auditors in Luxembourg. From 2011 to 2020 he was the executive director of the Nobel Foundation.

Bild på Lisa Laun

Lisa Laun

Deputy Chair

Associate Professor in Economics at the Institute for Evaluation of Labour Market and Education Policy (IFAU). Her research revolves around issues relating to the labour market and social insurance system, with a focus on the elderly.

Bild på Jesper Roine

Jesper Roine


Professor of Economics at the Stockholm School of Economics. His research focuses primarily on economic inequality, but he has also published work in areas such as political economy, public economics and economic development.

Bild på Anna Seim

Anna Seim


Professor of Economics and deputy head of the Economics Department at Stockholm University. Member of the scientific council of the Swedish National Debt Office. Her research centres on macroeconomic issues such as monetaty and fiscal policy, wage setting and the relationship between institutions and economic development.

Bild på Runar Brännlund

Runar Brännlund


Professor Emeritus of Economics at Umeå University. His research mainly focuses on issues relating to energy, the environment and natural resources.

Bild på Annika Sundén

Annika Sundén


Associate Professor of Economics. Has worked on a broad range of topics, including social insurance and the labour market. She has held leading positions within the Swedish Public Employment Service, Sida, the Swedish Pensions Agency and the Swedish Social Insurance Agency.